Self-Isolation Ideas to Keep You Occupied During the Coronavirus Pandemic

We've compiled a list of boredom busters to hopefully help keep you entertained and productive during self-isolation.

Learn how to play the synth

With all your new-found spare time during self-isolation, why not learn to make some music? Two synthesiser companies have made their apps available to download for free during the ongoing Coronavirus pandemic to help keep everyone entertained. Download the Minimoog app here and the Kaossilator app here.

Practice solo-sex

Last week, it was announced Pornhub was giving free premium content to the whole of Italy while they’re in lockdown and now Bellesa, a sex toy and porn company run by women, is giving away thousands of free vibrators to people in their time of solitude. If you’re based in London zones 1 +2, start-up sex toy company Naked Grapefruit‘s team are doing hand deliveries for those self-isolating when you buy their £25 vibrator. They’re also adding a free pick up service for corner shop supplies up to a fiver just in case you’re running out of oat milk!

Discover new music

With new releases from Dream Wife, Yaeji and BRICKS cover star Ashnikko, follow our Best New Music playlist on Spotify to discover all the new music and artists you should be listening to right now. Follow the playlist here, or simply click play in our website sidebar.

Amidst the cancellations and postponements of events and tours, now is also the time to support independent musicians. Bandcamp has announced they’re wavering their revenue share this Friday for a full day, urging music fans to spend money and discover new artists through the site to help support them. You can sign up here.

Tune in with Charli XCX

Pop-powerhouse Charli XCX has announced a program of daily online live stream events with Christine and The Queens, Diplo, Kim Petras and Rita Ora to spark conversation, share insight and entertain fans across currently in self-isolation.

See the current schedule below, follow Charli on Instagram here for notifications on each event starting. Times and guests subject to change, more to be announced soon!

Wednesday 18th March 2020 – 5pm UK time / 9am PST An Emo Chat w/ Christine and the Queens
Thursday 19th March 2020 – 6pm UK time / 10am PST Personal Training w/ Diplo
Friday 20th March 2020 – Time TBC Girls Night In w/ Rita Ora
Saturday 21st March 2020 – Time TBC Would U Rather w/ Kim Petras
Sunday 22nd March 2020 – 8pm UK time / 12 noon PST Art Class w/ Clairo

See some digital art exhibitions

Cairo Clarke yesterday announced the founding of in.oscillation, an open submission of text works and sounds published daily on siteprojects.co. The curator says the body of work will “develop over time into an online library of rhythms of resistance, expansion, meditation and solidarity” in the hope to “lightly lift spirits” in these uncertain times.

Photographer Chloe Sheppard has also set up Isolation Art Club on Instagram, a platform she describes as “a place to share work every day until we can leave the house again.” You can view the collection of works submitted so far here, and submit your own work via Chloe’s website.

Dark Layers
Processing...
Thank you! Your subscription has been confirmed. You'll hear from us soon.
To keep up to date with our events, parties and print magazine, subscribe to our mailing list
ErrorHere